What is AllofMP3 up to? Credit Card Fraud and Memphismembers.com

We’ve received several reports that AllofMP3 is preparing for a shutdown, but in an effort to protect its very strong revenue stream it has setup a NEW website that is individually targeted that the music service can more easily control access to (and potentially to avoid more conflicts with the RIAA).
The name of the new venture is Memphis Members (uhhhh), and AllofMp3 is sending private messages to all their “high value” clients to login into a specifically formatted domain (In the form of http://xxxxxxxxx.memphismembers.com and not available to the general public) with their AllofMP3 logins and receive a $15 bonus.
Although AllofMP3 PR (I’m still in shock that the website has a PR department) denies the existence of Memphis Members, several inside sources confirmed that this is AllofMp3’s exit strategy when the Russian government begins cracking down – which is expected in the next six months.
Memphis Members also promises they they will be able to again process charge cards. In a previous ongoing investigation UNEASYsilence found (using a trackable temporary credit cards issued in two countries) that AllofMP3 actually resells your credit card information on the black market and tries to run up debts before the AllofMP3 subscriber find out. On several temporary credit cards, that were used exclusively at AllofMP3, charges totaling over $3,000 per credit card were attempted for online purchases.

Do you have a link to your post detailing AllofMP3’s fraud and your investigation? I for one would be interested in reading it.
http://uneasysilence.com/?s=AllofMP3&x=0&y=0 gives no mention of any fraud; just that uneasy loves allofmp3 :D
The fraud is ongoing investigation – I edited the article to reflect such
Wow
Selling credit cards on the black market is something really dark o0
Uneasysilence even has detectives now, cool :D. Would you investigate my wife, please?
We always investigate stuff, Andre – IF THATS YOUR REAL NAME :)
If you enter http://www.memphismembers.com the page loads with 2 words in it:
“Nothing here.”
lol
Thats right to gain access to the special page they individually created specific urls for individual users. If I released two of the links my sources gave it would reveal their identities.
how does on go about getting “trackable temporary credit cards”? that sounds like a great way test out sketchy sites and services without too great of a risk.
I am shocked and offended; I have made two $10 purchases from them over the past year and they don’t consider me a high value customer? Blasphemy!
Okay, I’ve been transferred to the site, but I haven’t had my card abused once by them, neither have they in the past, I think this site suffers sour grapes….
Ive posted some more screenshots of memphis members here:
http://www.aom3.org/blog/2007/04/12/a-brief-look-at-allofmp3%e2%80%99s-new-private-shop-memphismemberscom-3/
I have used AllOfMp3 for over a year, and have payed a total of about $180.00, in about 12 different transactions.
I have NEVER had any shady purchases on my card.
Also, that doesn’t make any sense. They’re all ready making good money, why would they put their business in jeopardy with dealings like this?
I’d think if this was true, the RIAA, and hell all media outlets would be all over this news.
This news story is pure trash.
Used mp3 quite abit and memphis and NEVER NEVER had trouble. Customer Service from the site has been excellent. Are the people running this site holding this fairy story a front for the RIAA ? hmmmmmmmmm now theres propaganda in its finest form…..
Its simple for the RIAA. Have a site EXACTLY like ALLOFMP3, where you can choose bit rates and format with no DRM and charge HALF the current prices on itunes for each track.
No the RIAA and co wanna give rubbish bit rates in DRM formats so the consumer pays, pays and pays again when OS systems are upgraded and the likes of Microsoft break the DRM so its not compatible etc etc or Media Player can’t retrieve the licenses etc etc etc….
The RIAA and similar companies are blood sucking leeches, fat cats.
I dont mind paying for music, but not ridiculous rates (often cheaper to buy full quality non DRM CD’s !!!!! thats how stupid it is!) or in low quality formats.
It’s the RIAA that are the fraudsters. Sooner there time is up the better. Get rid of the money grabbing luvvies who actually pay teh artists a pittance compared to their own rake off.
Aboslute codswallop!!
I have invested more than $ 1500 in AllOfmp3 AND MemphisMembers.
Not once have my Credit Card details been abused!
Ditto to the above: have been using AllofMP3 for more than two years, no credit card fraud. Seems like RIAA disinformation.
Sorry to disillusion you Rob and others but I used a card on allofmp3.com which I never use for any other payment.
It’s primarily a cheque guarantee card but has a Visa logo and can be used for online transactions but I don’t ever use it for ANY other purpose, not even to guarantee cheques.
So I thought to be safe I’d use that, as my bank account never has much in it and only has a small overdraft facility so any potential fraud would be relatively painless and easily detected.
However on May 23rd this year someone paid for a U.S. magazine subscription from my card details, I live in the UK. I’ve never even heard of the magazine.
So I am now giving you all a first hand report that card details do indeed fall into the wrong hands via allofmp3.
Blatantly not true. I never heard of this site and just stumbled across it. Is this a RIAA trap site?
These guys are actually better about securing financial data than many American sites. Why? Because they have a solid business model (albeit , one that RIAA hates and Apple tries to screw – hence the skirting on the edge of the law for copyrights.)
Something about uneasysilence.com smells like either a RIAA trap or a US Federal government trap. Hey Fibbies! Come and get me, I haven’t admitted to anything illegal here! NYAH NYAH NYAH!
Whatever……………………………………………………………….Kevin.
The men in the white coats will be along real soon so just calm down.
What a load of RUBBISH. I think previous writers have already mentioned what I have experienced ie NO PROBLEMS.
Is the article writer on drugs ? Tripping on RIAA gas sniffing’s ? or Nose simply stuck up the proverbial place ??
LOL – Yes – sometimes cards WiLL fall into wrong hands, sometimes information will leak. My card has been ripped off, *without* actually *ever* being used on net!!!
… I would suggest to Dave n Dan relax .. think pretty .. ;o)
“The men in the white coats will be along real soon so just chill”
Yeah, this article is just trying to stoke up FUD.
Aside from MemphisMembers and the new Mp3Sparks websites owned by Mediaservices, there are a large number of alternatives similar to AllOfMP3. Check the list out at http://www.songboom.com – there are reviews and user ratings as well.
And yes, dave: there are such things as RIAA “honeypots”: read this SlashDot article on the MPAA doing the same thing just recently: http://slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=07/07/04/2212213.